KnightMUN XVIII_edited.png

Security Council


Rylie Gay

Committee Type

General Assembly

Background Guide

The United Nations Security Council was established in 1945 as one of the original six bodies of the UN. The Security Council is a unique entity because the resolutions it passes do not serve only as recommendations: all member states are obligated by the United Nations Charter to implement the Security Council’s decisions. The Security Council consists of fifteen member states; five permanent members and ten members with two year terms. One of the Security Council’s primary goals is “to maintain international peace and security”. When a threat to security occurs, the Security Council first attempts to resolve the dispute using peaceful means, then proceeds to deploy peacekeeping forces or encourage a ceasefire, and at last resort employ sanctions, blockades, or collective military action.

The Security Council for this year’s KnightMUN will be run in a hypercompetitive collegiate context. It is strongly recommended that high schools appoint experienced high school delegates who have intentions to continue Model UN in college. Delegates will be expected to follow the rules and guidelines of collegiate Model UN, outlined in the background guide and be prepared for intensive debate over the course of the weekend. The topic for the session will take place in the year 2022, and focus on the escalating conflict between India and Pakistan.

The Dais

Rylie Gay


Rylie Gay will  serve as your director for KnightMUN XVII’s hypercompetitive Security Council. She is a junior majoring in political science with a focus in international relations, with plans to eventually attend law school. This is her second year on staff for KnightMUN. Last year, she was the assistant director of the Godfather crisis committee. She spends the majority of her free time competing with UCF’s model UN team, having competed in 7 conferences last year alone. In addition, Rylie serves as the Executive Vice President of UCF’s United Nations Association and captain of the MUN travel team.


Please reload